PREMIER INTERSCHOOLS: Paul Roos v Paarl Boys’ High Historic Overview


On Saturday 28th May local neighbours Paul Roos and Paarl Boys’ High lock horns at the Markotter fields for the 6th edition of Premier Interschools for 2016. Paul Roos will look to even up the score after having lost against Paarl Boys’ in 2015. The Paarl outfit is however on a winning streak of 30 odd games having last lost a game at the end of 2014 season. They are currently the No 1 ranked school in South Africa and it will take some doing to put one over on them. However, if a side has the tools and ability to achieve this, it most certainly is the Paul Roos team. They have a solid pack of forwards and a mercurial backline with plenty of playmakers. Pivot and SA Schools player Damian Willemse is the key man in the Paul Roos backline together with flight of foot fullback Joshua Vermeulen. Who can all cause havoc in any defence.

Paarl Boys’ is renowned for their good solid defence structures and it will be a battle of wits for one to overcome the other. The 2016 version will be a battle of the same calibre and toughness experienced by previous teams, with the flair of a Paul Roos backline against the might of a solid Paarl Boys’ pack.  These two schools have a sporting history that dates back over a 100 years and have always been great rivals on the sports fields and great friends off it.  Many an old boy of these two schools have represented Western Province and South Africa together on the sports fields.

The first recorded time the old boys of the two schools played together for SA was in 1910 when the Springboks played Great Britain in a three test series. Dirkie de Villiers and Cocky Hahn became Paarl Boys’ first Springboks while Gideon Roos (Brother of Paul Roos), Dick and Lammetjie Luyt and Koot Reynecke where the PRG representatives.

Two other famous Springboks, Jannie Engelbrecht (PRG) and Mannetjies Roux (Paarl Boys) both made their debuts for South Africa in 1960. The first test they played together was against Wales in SA’s 3-0 win at Cardiff Arms Park. These two played together in 16 tests up to 1969.

The extreme rivalry runs deep between the two schools but so do the friendships. Over the years so many boys from the two schools have represented WP in various age group teams that when they got to their matric year they have played just as often with each other than against each other.

Paul Roos and Paarl Boys’ were also the two Cape schools invited to the first St Johns festival and have been regular attendees of this festival over the years. In 1999 the Paarl Boys’ team was so depleted with injuries that they were one player short in their starting 15 for the last game against Kearsney. Up stepped George Hauptfleisch from Paul Roos and pulled on a Paarl Boys’ jersey to help them out. He even scored a try in Neil Fullard’s No 3 jersey so the try was accredited to Neil!. Paarl Boys’ then helped out Paul Roos by providing some substitutes for their bench just in case they got any injuries!

Paul Roos Rugby History:

The words Paul Roos and rugby are synonymous as the great man was the originator of the now famous Springbok emblem and name for the South African national team. He is seen by many as the “father” of South African rugby and it is fitting that the school that carries his name is such a powerhouse in South African schools rugby.

Paul Roos has to date produced the most South African players to represent their country on a rugby field with Juandre Kruger becoming their 50th player when he played against England at Kingspark in Durban on the 9th of June 2012. Their latest Springbok is fullback Willie Le Roux who got his test cap against Italy in June 2013.

The following players from Paul Roos represented South Africa on the rugby field.

Arthur Nicholas de Kock (1891), Jacob Stephanus (Japie) Louw (1891), James Alexander (Jim) McKendrick (1891), Robert (Bob) Shand, Paul Johannes de Waal (1896), Japie Krige (1896), Bob Loubser (1896), Pieter Albertus Ryno Otto (PO) Nel (1903), Paul Johannes Roos (1903), Koei Brink (1906), Henry John (Pinkie) Daneel (1906), Boy de Villiers (1906), Freddie Luyt (1910), Dick Luyt (1910), Koot Reynecke (1910), Gideon Daniël Roos (1910), Wakkie Krige (1912), John Douglas Luyt (1912), Tom van Vuuren (1912), Nic du Plessis (1921), Theuns Kruger (1921), Charlé Meyer (1921), Mannetjies Michau (1921), Phil Mostert (1921), Tokkie Scholtz (1921), Jackie Tindall(1921), Attie van Heerder (1921), PK Albertyn (1924), Nico Bosman (1924), Daunce Devine (1924), Kenny Starke (1924), George Murray Daneel (1928), Manus de Jongh (1928), AF du Toit (1928), PK Morkel (1928), Boet Prinsloo (1928), Ferdie Bergh (1931), George Lionell van Reenen (1937), Ballie Wahl (1949), Tjol Lategan (1949), Jannie Engelbrecht (1960), Gertjie Brynard (1965), Hempies du Toit (1980), Cabous van der Westhuizen (1994), Justin Swart (1996), Cobus Visagie (1999), Andries Bekker (2008), Schalk Brits (2008), Francois Hougaard (2009), Juandre Kruger (2012),Willie Le Roux (2013)

 Paarl Boys’ Rugby History

Rugby is an integral part of the Paarl Boys’ way of life. It is important to win, but that should not be the primary objective. A sportsman may never be abused to ensure the success of a team. The primary objective at Paarl Boys’ High must be one of enjoyment, for both player and coach. Whereas they agree with the legendary Vince Lombardi when he said: ‘’Winning isn’t everything; it’s the only thing’’ they hold winning to be more than just points on the board. Winning relates to the values, commitment and the pursuit of the best of one’s abilities.

PBHS has produced 20 players that have represented South Africa since 1906. They have provided some of the legends and most famous Springbok rugby players ever to have played in the Green and Gold. Players like Oom “Boy” and Fanie Louw, Piet “Spiere” du Toit, Mannetjies Roux, Ryk van Schoor, Carel Du Plessis and Corné Krige.

Paarl Boys’ High Springboks.

  1. Cocky Hahn (1910)
  2. Dirkie de Villiers (1910)
  3. Louis Louw (1912)
  4. Theuns Kruger (1921)
  5. Champion Myburgh (1924)
  6. Jack Bester (1924)
  7. Boy Louw (1928)
  8. Manie Geere (1933)
  9. Fanie Louw (1933)
  10. Ben du Toit (1938)
  11. Ryk van Schoor (1949)
  12. Theuns Briers (1955)
  13. Piet du Toit (1958)
  14. Mannetjies Roux (1960)
  15. Haas Schoeman (1963)
  16. Carel du Plessis (1982)
  17. Wium Basson (1997)
  18. Corné Krige (1999)
  19. Gürthro Steenkamp (2004)
  20. Frans Malherbe (2013)